This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordAlfredo Campoli Collection

Collection Description

Collection Title
Alfredo Campoli Collection
Programmes relating to the career of violinist Alfredo Campoli (1906 – 1991). The collection includes concerts given in the UK and worldwide between 1945 and 1985 with Campoli as soloist, recitalist and artist-in-residence. There are approximately 1,300 programmes together with posters for concerts in Russia (1956) and Japan (1960), festival brochures, and Proms prospectuses. All contain analytical notes of the music to be performed and many of the earlier programmes include musical examples in these notes. Lists of orchestral personnel are also given where appropriate, as are photographs of the artists involved. All arranged chronologically over ten boxes divided as follows:

Box 1: 1945-48
Box 2: 1949-51 (including tour of Australia and New Zealand, 1950)
Box 3: 1952-53 (including tour of India, 1952 and Carnegie Hall debut December 1953)
Box 4: 1954-56 (including premiere of Bliss violin concerto 11 May 1955 and visit to Russia, 1956)
Box 5: 1957-58 (including tours of Spain, 1957 and 1958, and tour of Canada, 1958)
Box 6: 1959-1961 (including 1960 world tour)
Box 7: 1962-1965 (including tour of South Africa, 1965)
Box 8: 1966-70 (including tours of Australia and Japan, 1966, tour of Canada, 1967, tour of New Zealand, 1970)
Box 9: 1971-74 (including tours of Australia and New Zealand, 1972, tour of Canada, 1973, and summer of 1973 as Artist-in-Residence at the University of Western Australia)
Box 10: 1975-85 (including tours of New Zealand 1975-76)

Programmes include violin and piano recitals, orchestral concerts with Campoli as soloist and a significant number of concerts of mixed orchestral with violin and piano, or choral with violin and piano.

On the concert platform, Campoli performed with all the major British orchestras and conductors of the period in most of the major venues including the Royal Albert Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Fairfield Hall, Wigmore Hall, Birmingham Town Hall, Philharmonic Hall in Liverpool, Usher Hall in Edinburgh, Free Trade Hall in Manchester, Winter Gardens in Bournemouth. Regular collaborators included Sir Malcolm Sargent and the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Hugo Rignold and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Charles Groves and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Sir Thomas Beecham and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir Adrian Boult and the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir John Barbirolli and the Halle Orchestra. The repertoire performed covered all the major concertos, most frequently the Mendelssohn, Beethoven, Brahms, Bruch, Tchaikovsky and Lalo’s Symphonie Espagole but also included less often heard works such as the concerto by Frederico Elizalde, and the Glazunov and Moeran concertos. The violin concerto by Sir Arthur Bliss was written for Campoli and given its premiere by him with the composer conducting the BBC Symphony Orchestra on 11 May 1955 in the Royal Festival Hall.

In the recital hall, Campoli worked regularly with a number of noted pianists including Eric Gritton, Peter Katin, Flora Kent, Daphne Ibbot and Valerie Tryon, and in Australia and New Zealand with Maurice Till. Reportoire performed was extensive and included the unaccompanied Sonatas and Partitas of Bach, the majority of the Beethoven sonatas, the three Brahms sonatas, those by Cesar Frank, Elgar, Handel and Mozart together with a broad range of the popular showpieces for the instrument by composers such as Bazzini, Kreisler, Paganini, Ravel and Wieniawski.

A substantial proportion of the programmes in this collection are for the concerts given by Campoli during his frequent tours worldwide, most particularly from Australia and New Zealand, Spain, Russia, Canada and the United States.

Biography: Tunley, David: The bel canto violin: the life and times of Alfredo Campoli, 1906 – 1991. Aldershot: Ashgate, 1999.
Date range of collection
1945 - 1985
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

Cambridge University Library, Music Department
West Road Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom
Open Map
01223 333072
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 1, 1945 - 1948
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 2, 1949 - 1951
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 3, 1952 - 1953
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 4, 1954 - 1956
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 5, 1957 - 1958
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 6, 1959 - 1961
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 7, 1962 - 1965
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 8, 1966 - 1970
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 9, 1971 - 1974
  • Sub Collection: Alfredo Campoli Collection: Box 10, 1975 - 1985
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council