This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordMcCann Collection: Orchestral Concerts (1858-1875)

Collection Description

Collection Title
McCann Collection: Orchestral Concerts (1858-1875)
One volume of programmes from orchestral concerts, from 1858 to 1875. The volume contains two types of material: programmes from concerts given by the British Orchestral Society in the 1870s, and programmes from the New Philharmonic Concerts at St. James’s Hall in the 1860s. The volume contains a typed index. This lists works performed by composer, cross-referencing each work to a handwritten page number in the volume. There are a number of annotations on various programmes in the volume.

The programmes from the British Orchestral Society relate to the first, second and third season of concerts, from 1872 to 1875. There are programmes from the following concerts:
1st season – 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th (last);
2nd season – 5th, 6th;
3rd season – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th (last).

The concerts took place at St. James’s Hall, London. The dates of the concerts do not appear on the front cover of the bound programmes, but are indicated by the season information on the front cover verso. The concerts were conducted by George Mount. The programmes contain programme notes described as “historical and analytical”. The notes were written by G.A. Macfarren, and are supplemented by musical examples. In addition, the programmes contain orchestral lists.

There are programmes from the seventh, tenth, eleventh and twelfth seasons of New Philharmonic Concerts at St. James’s Hall, from 1858 and 1861 to1863. There are programmes from the following concerts:
7th season – 2nd;
10th season – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th (last);
11th season – 1st, 4th;
12th season – 1st, 2nd.

The concerts were conducted by Henry Wylde. The concerts contained orchestral music, instrumental solos and solo vocal items. The programmes contain analytical programme notes, musical examples and orchestra lists.

The programmes are arranged by concert series, then in chronological order.
Date range of collection
1858 - 1875
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

Royal Academy of Music Museum
Marylebone Road, London NW1 5HT
Open Map
020 7873 7443
020 7873 7374
Visiting Information
11.30am - 5.30pm Monday to Friday 12.00pm - 4.00pm Weekends
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council