This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordWestminster Orchestral Society (1892)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Westminster Orchestral Society (1892)
Unique Identifier
e.1402.a. (6.)
Programmes and wordbooks for the 21st and 22nd concerts of the Westminster Orchestral Society (seventh season), given on 16 March and 25 May 1892 at the Town Hall, Caxton Street, Westminster.

These were both two-act performances of vocal and orchestral repertory.

Programmes for both performances provide a full list of the orchestral ensemble, led by Mr Frye Parker, accompanied by Herbert Lake and conducted by Stewart Macpherson. There are also brief historical notes on certain of the works performed and some detailed lists of the organizers of the Westminster Orchestral Society.

16 March 1892: Madame Emily Spada and Mr Philip Newbury (vocal) and Madame Anna Lang (violin), including a ‘New Orchestral Work’ by Walter Wesché, dedicated to the Westminster Orchestral Society.

25 May 1892: Miss Fanny Davies (piano) with Miss Mary Stiven and David Hughes (vocal), including the first performance of Macpherson, Notturno for Orchestra.
Date range of collection
1892 - 1892
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council