This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordThomas Beecham Orchestral Concerts (1909)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Thomas Beecham Orchestral Concerts (1909)
Unique Identifier
Programmes for the Thomas Beecham Orchestral Concerts nos. 1 and 2, given at the Queen’s Hall, London on 22 February and 15 March [1909], under the direction of Thomas Quinlan. These were to form part of a series of five concerts given by the Thomas Beecham Orchestra, conducted by Thomas Beecham.

Both programmes contain wordbooks, historical and analytical notes, musical examples and a list of the orchestral ensemble. The notes are provided by Ernest Newman (no.1) and Percy Pitt and Alfred Kalisch (no.2).

22 February 1909: North Staffordshire District Choral Society (James Whewall, conductor) with Mr Frederic Austin and Mr Arthur Alexander (vocal), including Berlioz Te Deum and the first performance of Vaughan Williams, Symphonic Impression, ‘In the Fen Country’.
15 March 1909: Signor Tamini (vocal), including the first English performance of Vincent d’Indy, Jour d’Été à la Montagne, a symphonic poem for piano and orchestra (Harold Brooke, piano).
Date range of collection
1909 - 1909
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council