This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordStock Exchange Orchestral Society (1894-98)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Stock Exchange Orchestral Society (1894-98)
Unique Identifier
d.488.b. (5.)
A collection of analytical programmes with words for the first concert of the 12th, 13th, 14th and 16th seasons given by the Stock Exchange Orchestral Society, held on 19 December 1894, 3 December 1895, 8 December 1896 and 5 December 1898 at the Queen’s Hall, Langham Place.

These were all two-part vocal and orchestral concerts, including a number of first performances (see below), conducted by George Kitchin (nos.1-3) and Arthur W. Payne (no.4). With the exception of that in 1894, all concerts were accompanied by Sidney H. Lamb.

All programmes carry extensive historical and analytical notes, with musical examples. There is also detailed information regarding the personnel involved with the Society, including lists of the Members, a record of the vocal and instrumental soloists and a list of the orchestral ensemble. All of the documents include advertisements (with programmes) for the second performance in the series.

19 December 1894: Charles Santley (vocal), Miss Adrienne Blower (piano) and Mr Munro Davidson (organ), including the first performance of Clariss Mallard[e], Elfentanz for Orchestra (with notes by ‘E.D.’ [Edward Dannreuther] and ‘C.A.B.’ [Charles Ainsley Barry]).
3 December 1895: Miss Marian McKenzie (vocal) with Mrs Douglas Scott and Miss Emily Shinner (violin), including Spohr, Concertante in B minor for two violins and the first performance of Richard H. Walthew, Petite Suite pour Orchestre.
8 December 1896: Mrs Hutchinson (vocal) with Miss Eldina Bligh (violin), including the first performance of R.H. Walthew, Festival Overture in D. The notes for this performance include reprints of essays by George Grove, August Manns and Mr C.A. Barry.
5 December 1898: Madame Marie Hooton (vocal) with Mr Bertie Withers (cello) and Mr Munro Davidson (organ) (with notes by Edgar F. Jacques).
Date range of collection
1894 - 1898
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council