This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordSt. James´s Hall Concerts (1894-96)

Collection Description

Collection Title
St. James´s Hall Concerts (1894-96)
Unique Identifier
A collection of programmes and wordbooks for three performances given at St. James’s Hall, London in 1894, held with analytical programmes for two performances given by the vocalists David Bispham and Camilla Landi in 1896.

These concerts consisted principally of vocal and instrumental solos, given by the performers listed below. The Bispham-Landi concerts were both accompanied by Henry Bird.

The programmes for 30 June and 12 July 1894 and 1 May 1896 carry minor handwritten annotations regarding changes to the printed programme.

6 July [1894]: Mrs Henschel’s Vocal Recital of Mr Henschel’s Compositions, with Mr and Mrs Henschel, Miss Marguerite Hall and Mr Shakespeare (vocal).

30 June [1894]: Estrèla Belinfante’s Morning Concert, with Mr Ben Davies, Signorina Estrela Belinfante, Mr Eugene Oudin and Madame Marie Duma (vocal), Signorine Rosina and Bice Cerasoli (piano), Joseph Hollman (cello), Signor Maldura (mandolin), the Ploymnia Vocal Quartette and the Meistersingers Bijou Orchestra.

12 July 1894: Grand Concert in aid of a Catholic Church in the East End, given by Madame Marie Duma, Miss Beata Francis, Mr Dudley Buck and Monsieur Edouard de Reszké (vocal), Miss Natalie Janotha and Monsieur Josef Slivinski (piano), and Master Huberman (violin), accompanied by Mr Spencer Lorraine.

11 February 1896: Mr Bispham’s Third Concert of the Winter Season, entitled ‘Modern Music of Various Schools’, with Miss Fanny Davies (piano) and Signor Piatti (cello), including a recitation by Mr Hermann Vezin (with words and historical notes).

1 May 1896: Mr Bispham’s Extra Concert, with Gabriel Fauré (piano), Adolph Brodsky (violin), Mr Hobday (viola) and Mr Squire (cello), beginning with a piano quartet by Fauré (op.15) and concluding with the first performance of a vocal duet ‘Pleurs d’Or’, accompanied by the composer (with historical and analytical notes by Edgar F. Jacques).
Date range of collection
1894 - 1896
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council