This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordSt. James´s Hall Concerts (1892-94)

Collection Description

Collection Title
St. James´s Hall Concerts (1892-94)
Unique Identifier
c.371.b. (3.)
A collection of programmes and wordbooks for four concerts given at St. James’s Hall, London between 1892 and 1894, held as part of a bound volume.

15 December 1892: Grand Charity Concert, given for the benefit of the Nursing Homes of St. Mary’s, Plaistow by Miss Macintyre, Mademoiselle Sofia Ravogli, Miss Evangeline Florence, Madame Giulia Valda, Mademoiselle Giulia Ravogli, Mrs Katharine Fisk, Miss Marie Brema, Mr Ben Davies, Mr Albert Cornish, Mr Bispham, Mr Maybrick, Mr Charles Wyndham and Miss Mary Moore (vocal), Mademoiselle Grimaldi (piano) and Mademoiselle Yrrac (violin), conducted by Mr Waddington Cooke and Mr George Clutsam. This was a two-part vocal concert, including instrumental solos in each act and pieces given by the Queen Vocal Quartette. The programme includes some handwritten annotations which comment on the performance and indicate the provision of encores.

14 December 1893: Mr Daniel Mayer’s Grand Wagner Concert, given by Misses Marguerite Macintyre, Evangeline Florence, Nancy McIntosh and Marie Brema, Mr J. Henry McKinley, Mr C. Karlyle and Mr Kennerley Rumford (vocal), with the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Mr Henschel. Miss Marguerite Macintyre was forced to withdraw from this performance and was replaced by Miss Esther Palliser.

1 June [1893]: Piano and Vocal Recital, given by Mademoiselle Chaminade and Mr and Mrs Eugene Oudin, consisting of vocal and piano solos written by Cecile Chaminade. The programme carries some handwritten annotations, indicating the performance of encores.

2 June 1894: Mademoiselle Chaminade’s Third Annual Concert, consisting of music by Chaminade given by Miss Liza Lehman, Mademoiselle Camilla Landi and Mr Arthur Owald (vocal) with Mademoiselle Chaminade and Monsieur Stojowski (solo piano).
Date range of collection
1892 - 1894
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council