This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordSt. James´s Hall Concerts (1883-1904)

Collection Description

Collection Title
St. James´s Hall Concerts (1883-1904)
Unique Identifier
A miscellaneous collection of programme books for thirteen performances given at St. James’s Hall, London between 1883 and 1904.

Where appropriate, these documents incorporate wordbooks/the texts of the vocal and choral pieces. Those for the orchestral performances given on 29 January and 4 March 1904 include historical and analytical notes, with musical examples, written by Percy Pitt and A. Kalisch (January) and Joseph Bennett (March).

14 June 1883: Fourth Concert of the St Cecilia Society, with Miss Edith Phillips, Miss Everett Green, Miss Emily Lawson, Miss Howell and Mr John F. Probert (vocal), Miss Amy Hickling (violin), Miss Mary Carmichael (piano) and Mr E.H. Turpin (organ), conducted by Malcolm Lawson, including Pergolesi, Stabat Mater and the first English performance of C.V. Stanford, ‘Twine the Wreath’ from The Veiled Prophet.

18 December 1889: Ballad Concert (24th season no.5), given under the direction of Mr John Boosey by Miss Eleanor Rees, Miss Alice Gomez, Mrs Mary Davies, Madame Antoinette Sterling, Signor Foli, Mr Edward Lloyd and Mr Plunket Greene (vocal) and Madame Neruda (violin), conducted by Mr Sidney Naylor with Mr Fountain Meen (organ). This was a two-part concert of Christmas vocal solos, with part-songs by Mr Eaton Fanning’s Select Choir. The programme includes an advertisement (with performers but no programme) for the next concert in the series, given on 4 January 1890.

7 February 1902: Song and Pianoforte Recital given by Mr Plunket Greene and Mr Leonard Borwick, accompanied by Mr S. Liddle, being a four-part performance alternating vocal and instrumental solos. This document includes an advertisement, with programme, for the second and last recital, to be given on 21 February 1902.

5 February 1903: Mr Francis Harford’s Second Recital, with Max Wolfsthal (violin) and Mr E. Howard-Jones (piano), accompanied by Miss Caroline Bigge and Miss Marguerite Tilleard, including the first performance of ‘Tears, idle Tears’, a new song for bass and piano by R. Vaughan Williams.

15 February [no year]: Charles Williams Orchestra, with Mrs Liddell and Mr J. Sutcliffe (violins), Mr Leonard Borwick (piano) and Mr Denham Price (vocal). The programme contains a list of the Honorary Members of the organization and a complete list of the orchestral ensemble, led by Winifred Holiday.

1 July 1903: Anton Van Rooy’s Vocal Recital, with Carl Friedberg (piano). An insert to this document records that Friedberg had to be replaced by Hans Morgenstern and that, whilst Morgenstern accompanied the vocal pieces, the piano solos were removed from the programme. There are a number of handwritten annotations which comment on the standard of the performance.

4 November 1903: Herr Egon Petri (piano) with Miss Dorothy Bridson (violin) and Miss Hope Morgan (voice), being a concert of predominantly instrumental solos, accompanied by Theodore Flint.

26 November 1903: Monsieur Ysaye’s Violin Recital, with Miss Alice Venning (vocal), Miss Gwennie Mason (harp) and Percy Pitt (organ), accompanied by Mr Charlton Keith.

29 January 1904: Ysaye’s Orchestral Concert, conducted by René Ortmans, including violin concertos by Mozart (K.268), Beethoven and Saint-Seans.

4 March 1904: John Dunn’s Orchestral Concert, conducted by Hamish McCunn, consisting entirely of concertante music for the violin, including concertos by Tchaikovsky and Beethoven and Alexander Mackenzie, Pibroch Suite (conducted by the composer).

10 March 1904: Pianoforte and Vocal Recital given by Miss Fanny Davies and Mr Ffrangcon-Davies, accompanied by Mr Rutland Boughton, including the first performance of a selection of tunes by ‘Old Netherlandish Masters’, given by Davies on the celesta. The programme includes brief historical notes on each of these pieces.

8 June 1904: Signor Arturo Tibaldi’s Concert, with Miss Alice Holländer, Madame Emma Eames and Mr Gervase Elwes (vocal) and Miss May Christie and Mr Amherst Webber (piano) (with photographs of Tibaldi and Eames).

20 June 1904: Vienna Male Choir, with Hugo Heinz (vocal) and Benno Schönberger, conducted by Edmund Reim. An insert in this programme records that Schönberger was actually replaced by Francis Macmillen (violin) and that the programme was modified accordingly.
Date range of collection
1883 - 1904
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council