This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordSpecial Collections: Dorothy Wood: Promenade Concert Programmes (1936-37)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Special Collections: Dorothy Wood: Promenade Concert Programmes (1936-37)
Unique Identifier
Programmes for three Promenade Concerts given by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Henry Wood, at the Queen's Hall, London on 22 August and 4 September 1936 (42nd season) and 1 October 1937 (43rd season), held loosely in a single folder.

All programmes include words, Descriptive Notes by Rosa Newmarch, a photograph of Henry Wood and lists of the choral and orchestral ensembles.

22 August 1936: Stiles-Allen and John Brownlee (vocal) and Solomon (piano).
4 September 1936: William Parsons (vocal) and Arthur Rubinstein (piano), including the first English performance of E. Dohnanyi, Minutes Symphoniques.
1 October 1937: Beethoven Concert, including Symphony No. 9 with Jeanne Dusseau, Margaret Balfour, Parry Jones and Harold Williams (vocal). This second part of this programme also featured various pieces conducted by Leslie Woodgate.
Date range of collection
1936 - 1937
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
Associated Times

Location Details

BBC Written Archives Centre
Caversham Park Reading Berkshire RG4 8TZ
Open Map
01189 486281
Collections Overview
The BBC's Written Archives constitute the working papers of the organization from 1922 to the 1970s. They show in great detail how the BBC went about the task of making programmes, first for radio and later also for television. They detail the planning, production and content of these programmes, encompassing internal memoranda and minutes of meetings, financial records, correspondence with contributors, programmes records of various types, extensive press cuttings, audience reaction, concert programmes, publicity and publications. These detailed internal records are available for research from the beginning up to 1974.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council