This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordShanghai Municipal Orchestra (1923-24)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Shanghai Municipal Orchestra (1923-24)
Unique Identifier
A collection of material relating to the Shanghai Municipal Orchestra, comprising complete sets of programmes for 12 Chamber Music and Soloist Concerts and for 33 Symphony Concerts, given at an unspecified venue during the 1923 to 1924 season.

The majority of programmes include wordbooks and some carry historical notes.

1. Chamber Music and Soloist Concerts
These concerts typically included three or four pieces and combined string-based chamber music with vocal or instrumental solos. The majority of the repertory was drawn from European composers of the nineteenth century.

All performances were given under the leadership of Maestro Mario Paci (who also appeared as a piano soloist and accompanist) and featured a string quartet of Messrs Arrigo Foa, W. Wegman, J. Podushka and I. Shevtzoff. Additional performers are listed below.

8 November 1923: Mrs A.M. Bowes-Smith (soprano) (with an insert regarding the necessary replacement of Maestro Paci by Mrs C.A. Sykes and Mrs Zalsman (piano)).
22 November 1923: Madame M. Zalsman (soprano).
20 December 1923: 'Russian Composers' with Mr P. Selivanow (bass).
27 December 1923: Mrs A.M. Bowes-Smith (soprano).
17 January 1924: Mrs R.M. Vanderburgh (soprano).
31 January 1924: Mr H. Kunze (harp).
14 February 1924: 'Works by Brahms', with Mrs H. von Heidenstam (mezzo-soprano) and Mr V. Dramis (clarinet).
28 February 1924: Mozart Programme, with Mr F. Felicani (oboe) and Mr V. Dramis (clarinet).
13 March 1924: Mr M. Paoli (baritone) and Mr A.M. Bowes-Smith (piano).
27 March 1924: Messrs H.E. Muriel (vocal) and R.C. Young (piano).
10 April 1924: Mrs P. Isherwood (soprano) and Mr F. Felicani (oboe).
1 May 1924: Messrs Muling (piano), N. Vierkowsky (flute), F. Felicani (oboe), V. Dramis (clarinet), J.C. van Heijst (bassoon), F. Wadrashka (French horn).

2. Municipal Orchestra, Symphony Concert Series
These were two-part concerts of nineteenth-century European orchestral repertory, with concertante music given by the soloists indicated below, conducted (unless otherwise stated) by Mario Paci.

7 October 1923: (handbill only).
14 October 1923: Nora Moon (soprano) (programme and wordbook only).
21 October 1923: (with some handwritten alterations to the printed programme).
28 October 1923: Mr Isidor Achron (piano).
4 November 1923: Mr I. Shevtzoff (cello), conducted by Mr Arrigo Foa.
11 November 1923: Mr A.M. Bowes-Smith (piano).
18 November 1923: Prof. G. Zalsman (baritone).
25 November 1923: Messrs T. Percu (flute) and H. Kunze (harp), conducted by Mr A. de Kryger.
2 December 1923: Madame Valentina Tumanskaya (soprano), conducted by Arrigo Foa.
9 December 1923: Mr A. Hmelnitsky (piano), conducted by A. de Kryger.
16 December 1923: Operatic Programme, with Miss Lilly Leemann (soprano) and C. Fiocchi (cornet), conducted by Foa.
23 December 1923: Operatic Programme, with Mr M Paoli (baritone).
30 December 1923: Mr I Schevtzoff (cello).
6 January 1924: Mrs Mona Holesco (soprano).
13 January 1924: V. Volin (baritone).
20 January 1924: Mr A. Foa (violin).
27 January 1924:
3 February 1924: Mr N. Vierkowsky (flute).
10 February 1924: conducted by Arriga Foa.
17 February 1924: Russian Composers with Mr P. Selivanov (bass).
24 February 1924: French Composers, with Mr A. Foa (violin).
2 March 1924: Operatic Programme, with Mrs L. Isenman (soprano) and Mr H. Kunze (harp).
9 March 1924: Italian Composers (Operatic and Symphony Works), with Mrs L. Isenman (soprano).
16 March 1924: Mrs A.M. Bowes-Smith (vocal).
23 March 1924: Russian Composers, conducted by Mr A. Simziss-Brian.
30 March 1924:
6 April 1924:
13 April 1924: Mr A. Foa (violin).
27 April 1924:
4 May 1924: French Composers, with Messrs A. Foa (violin), I. Shevtzoff (cello), N. Vierkowsky (flute) and V. Dramis (clarinet).
11 May 1924: Mrs P. Isherwood (vocal).
18 May 1924: English Music and Operatic Fragments, with Signora Piraccini.
25 May 1924: Miss Nathalie Boshko (violin).
Date range of collection
1923 - 1924
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council