This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordRoyal Choral Society Mozart Centenary Concert (1891)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Royal Choral Society Mozart Centenary Concert (1891)
Unique Identifier
e.1399. (5.)
Programme and wordbook for a Mozart Centenary concert, given by the Royal Choral Society on 5 December 1891 at the Royal Albert Hall, London.

This was a two-part concert, the first part consisting of the Requiem and the second including the ‘Jupiter’ symphony.

The programme lists the following performers: Mrs Henschel, Madame Patey, Mr Edward Lloyd, Mr Watkin Mills, and Mr Charles Fry (vocal); the Royal Choral Society’s Professional Orchestra, with W. Hodge (organ) and Mr Barnby and Mr Henschel (conductors).

During the interval of this performance, Charles Fry gave a recitation of a poem entitled ‘Mozart’, written by Joseph Bennett. The text of this is included in the programme, as are some historical and analytical notes, with musical examples, on the works performed.
Date range of collection
1891 - 1891
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council