This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordRoyal Amateur Orchestral Society (1892)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Royal Amateur Orchestral Society (1892)
Unique Identifier
c.371.b. (1.)
Programme, with words, for the first concert of the twenty-first season of the Royal Amateur Orchestral Society, given on 26 November 1892 at St. James’s Hall, London.

This was a two-part concert of nineteenth-century repertory, featuring the Queen Vocal Quartette (Misses Mina Rees, Amy Sargent, Mary Hutton, and Lucie Johnstone) and Mademoiselle Janotha (piano), accompanied by Signor Li Calsi and conducted by George Mount.

The programme includes a complete list of the orchestral ensemble, as well as some historical notes on certain works. Also lists of the Society’s patrons, committee, and members.

This programme carries some handwritten annotations which record changes to the printed programme and indicate those works receiving an encore.
Date range of collection
1892 - 1892
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council