This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordReading Festival Chorus (1991)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Reading Festival Chorus (1991)
Unique Identifier
D/EX 1225 7/7/1-4
A collection of 4 loose programmes for performances given by the Reading Festival Chorus in 1991, held as the last of 7 envelopes of material relating to the organization.

With the exception of the concert given on 5 November (conducted by Christopher Herrick), all concerts were conducted by Jonathan Grieves-Smith. The vocal soloists are listed below.

All programmes include words and notes, including biographical notes. All programmes, except that for 24 March, also provide lists of the choral and orchestral ensembles.

24 March 1991, Hexagon Theatre, Reading: Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius, with Philip Salmon, Rebecca de Pont Davies and John Hancorn, Kreutzkantorei Düsseldorf, Sussex Chamber Choir and the City of Oxford Orchestra.

8 June 1991, The Kerith Centre, Bracknell: Mozart and Haydn, with Louisa Kennedy, Rachel Tovey, Robert Carlin and Wei Kiat Ong and the New London Orchestra.

5 November 1991, Royal Albert Hall: Verdi Requiem/Bruckner, Te Deum, with Susan Bullock, Fiona Kimm, Justin Lavender and Keith Latham, Twickenham Choral Society, Whitehall Choir, Dulwich Choral Society, Finchley Choral Society and John Bate Choir and Rosebery Orchestra (with photographs).

14 December 1991, Minster Church of St. Mary, Reading: Handel, Messiah, with Eileen Pinkarschewsky, Catherine Sams, Philip Curtis and Wei Kiat Ong and the City of Oxford Orchestra.
Date range of collection
1991 - 1991
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Times

Location Details

Berkshire Record Office
9 Coley Avenue Reading Berkshire RG1 6AF
Open Map
0118 901 5132
Collections Overview
Berkshire Record Office was established in 1948 to locate and preserve records relating to the county of Berkshire and its people, and to make them available for research to anyone who is interested in the county's past.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council