This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordReading Festival Chorus (1981-89)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Reading Festival Chorus (1981-89)
Unique Identifier
D/EX 1225 7/6/1-7
A collection of 6 loose programmes for performances given by the Reading Festival Chorus between 1981 and 1989, held as the sixth of 7 bundles of material relating to the organization.

Also, a printed announcement, with biographical notes, regarding the replacement of Lynne McWhirter by Philippa Dames-Longworth at the concert of 18 March 1989.

The concerts were conducted by Peter Edwards (1981–1982), Gregory Rose (1987) and Jonathan Grieves-Smith (1988–89). Concerts given in 1981 and 1982 featured the Capriol Orchestra of London. The vocal soloists are listed below.

All programmes include notes and biographical notes. Certain documents also include wordbooks.

4 December 1981, Hexagon Theatre: Bach, Christmas Oratorio, with Linda Murray, Susan Kessler, Neil Mackie and Peter Savidge.

14 April 1982, Hexagon Theatre: Haydn and Lennox Berkeley, with Margaret Field, Elizabeth Stokes, Charles Corp and Graham Titus.

27 November 1982, Hexagon Theatre: Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius, with Kenneth Bowen, Barbara Robotham and Roger Stalman (programme sheets contained within a formal folder).

12 December 1987, Minster Church of St. Mary the Virgin: Bach, Christmas Oratorio, with Margaret Field, Verona James, Adrian Thompson and Peter Rose and the London Jupiter Orchestra.

6 November 1988, Eton College Chapel: Dvorak, Stabat Mater, with Amy Rodenburg, Rebecca Davies, Graeme Stewart and Jonathan May and the City of Oxford Orchestra.

18 March 1989, St. Mary's Church, The Butts, Reading: Poulenc and Fauré with Lynne McWhirter and Mark Beesley (vocal) and Jane Watts (organ).
Date range of collection
1981 - 1989
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
This collection is about

Location Details

Berkshire Record Office
9 Coley Avenue Reading Berkshire RG1 6AF
Open Map
0118 901 5132
Collections Overview
Berkshire Record Office was established in 1948 to locate and preserve records relating to the county of Berkshire and its people, and to make them available for research to anyone who is interested in the county's past.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council