This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordPrinces´ Hall Concerts (1889-91)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Princes´ Hall Concerts (1889-91)
Unique Identifier
c.373. (5.)
A collection of programmes for five concerts given at the Princes’ Hall, Piccadilly between 1889 and 1891, arranged in a largely chronological fashion within a bound volume.

With the exception of the first, all of these programmes incorporate wordbooks.

3 July [1889]: Mrs M. Bollingbroke’s Evening Concert, being a two-part concert of vocal and instrumental music, given by Mrs Mary Davies, Fraulein Olga Islar and Mrs M Bolingbroke (vocal), with Monsieur Tivadar Nachèz (violin) and Herr Arthur Friedheim (piano), conducted by Mr A. Randegger and Mr Ernest Ford (with a number of handwritten annotations, commenting principally on the standard of performance).

26 June 1889: Mr W. De Manby Sergison’s Fifth Annual Concert, being a two-part concert of vocal and instrumental music given by Miss Robertson, Miss Alice Gomez, Madame Belle Cole, Mr Gregory Hast and Mr Arthur L. Oswald (vocal), with Monsieur Tivadar Nachéz (violin), M. Leo Stern (cello) and Mdlle Jeanne Douste, Mr W. De Manby Sergison and Mr Ernest Ford (piano).

11 June 1890: Miss Fanny Davies’s Grand Morning Concert, being a single-act performance of vocal and piano music by Robert and Clara Schumann, given by Miss Fanny Davies (piano), Herr Straus (violin), Signor Piatti (cello) and Fraulein Fillunger (vocal) (with brief historical programme notes).

20 June 1891: Mademoiselle Otta Brony’s Grand Danish Evening Concert, being a single-act performance combining vocal items with music for piano and strings, given by Miss Louise Phillips, Mdlle Otta Brony and Mr Barton McGuckin (vocal), with Mdlle Jeanne Douste (piano), Mr Willie Woltmann (violin) and Mr Leo Stern (cello), conducted by Wilhelm Ganz. The performance also included a recitation by Madame Nissen (with brief handwritten annotations providing additional information about the programme and indicating the performance of encores).

10 July 1891: Miss Liza Lehmann’s Vocal Recital, with Miss Liza Lehmann, Mr Plunket Greene and Herr Von Zur Mühlen, being a single-act vocal performance, including music by Lehamm (some given for the first time) and a recitation by Rosina Filippi (with occasional handwritten annotations, indicating which works were encored).
Date range of collection
1889 - 1891
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council