The archive includes a substantial run of programmes for the period 1930 to 2005. There are also photocopies of programmes dating back to 1897.
The first performance by the Oxford Bach Choir took place in St. Mary Magdalen Church on 7 December 1896. Since then, it has given over 300 concerts. Prior to 1914, these were held in the Town Hall, Oxford. Since then, the majority have been at the Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford.
The choir's membership is drawn from the University and the town. Its conductors have included: Basil Harwood (1896–1901), Hugh Allen (1901–26), Dr W. H. Harris (1926–33), Thomas Armstrong (1933–55), Sydney Watson (1955–70), Jack Westrup (1970–71), Simon Preston (1971–74), Edward Olleson (1974–77), Christopher Robinson (1977–97) and Nicholas Cleobury (1997-).
In addition to the concert programmes, the archives include minutes, accounts, annual reports, correspondence files, repertoire lists and various other ephemera.