This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordNorman Del Mar Collection: Richard Strauss (1901-61)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Norman Del Mar Collection: Richard Strauss (1901-61)
Unique Identifier
MS Mus. 121
A collection of brochures and programme books for performances of music by Richard Strauss given at venues in London and Germany between 1903 and 1961, held as the sixth of fourteen volumes of papers pertaining to the conductor, composer and writer Norman René Del Mar, CBE (1919-1994).

4 and 5 June 1903, St. James's Hall, London: Richard Strauss Festival concert no. 2 and 3, with the Concertgebouw Symphonic Orchestra, Amsterdam, conducted by Richard Strauss and Willem Mengelberg (with extensive historical and analytical notes and musical examples). The complete festival was given between 3 and 9 June 1903, under the management of Mr Hugo Görlitz. These concerts featured the solo performers Pauline Strauss-de Ahna, vocal (4 June); Percy Pitt, organ, Herr Zimmermann, violin, and Mr Ffrangcon Davies, vocal (5 June).

15 March 1910, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden: Richard Strauss, Elektra (first English performance), conducted by the composer as part of the Thomas Beecham Opera Season (handbill and poster).

5 and 12 October 1947, Theatre Royal, Drury Lane: Two Concerts of the Works of Richard Strauss, given in the presence of the composer by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Oscar Lampe and conducted by Sir Thomas Beecham (brochure entitled Richard Strauss in London). This document also includes an announcement of performances to be given on 19 and 29 October by Richard Strauss with the Philharmonia Orchestra/BBC Symphony Orchestra and an announcement of two studio performance of Elektra given by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sir Thomas Beecham (broadcast by the BBC Third Programme).

10 August 1956, Munchner Opernfestspiele: Richard Strauss, Die Agyptisch Helena, conducted by Joseph Keilberth (with extensive notes and detailed biographical information).

1961–62, Prinzregenten Theatre, Munich: Strauss, Der Rosenkavalier/Die Schweigsame Frau (included in the prospectus for the Bayerische Staatstheater).

24 June 1935, Sachsische Staatstheater Opernhaus, Essen: Richard Strauss, Die Schweigsame Frau, conducted by Karl Bohm (with notes and detailed biographical information).

24 November 1961, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden: Richard Strauss, The Silent Woman, conducted by Rudolf Kempe (with historical and biographical notes, a plot synopsis and a list of the orchestral ensemble).
Date range of collection
1903 - 1961
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council