This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordNorfolk and Norwich Triennial Musical Festival (1908)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Norfolk and Norwich Triennial Musical Festival (1908)
Unique Identifier
A collection of material relating to the four morning and four evening performances given at St. Andrew's Hall, Norwich between 28 and 31 October 1908 as the 29th Norfolk and Norwich Triennial Musical Festival, including a prospectus (with preliminary programmes), analytical programmes and wordbooks (missing that for the final concert) and a souvenir brochure.

1. Prospectus
This includes a list of committee members for the festival and extensive infomration regarding ticket applications (including a plan of the hall). The following information is provided regarding the musicians engaged:

Vocal: Miss Perceval Allen, Hattie Molineaux, Elsie Nicholl, Agnes Nicholls, Lenora Sparkes, Jenny Taggart, Mrs Henry J. Wood, Julia Culp, Molly Deane, Jessie Goldsack, Madame Kirkby Lunn, Gwladys Roberts, Edna Thornton and Dorothy Webster; Lloyd Chandos, Gervase Elwes, Noel Fleming, Webster Millar, Henry Plevy, Dalton Baker, Herbert Brown, Ward Cowdery, David Evans, Frederick Ranalow, Herbert Witherspoon and Frederic Austin.

Instrumental: Fritz Kreisler (violin) and Madame Teresa Carreño (piano), with Mr Haydon Hare (chorus master), Mr Richard Lowne (assistant chorus master), F.B. Kiddle (organ) and the Queen's Hall Orchestra, led by Maurice Sons and conducted by Henry Wood.

2. Programmes
All programmes contain list of patrons, committee members and guarantors for the Festival, as well as the record of principal performers included in the prospectus and a list of the Festival Chorus.

With the exception of that for the penultimate concert, all programmes include extensive historical and analytical notes, with musical examples and the text for vocal pieces. Unless otherwise stated below, these are written by Percy Pitt and Alfred Kalisch.

28 October 1908 (morning)
Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius (Madame Julia Culp, Gervase Elwes and Herbert Brown) and Tchaikovsky, Symphonie Pathétique. The notes for the Elgar are written by A.J. Jaeger.

28 October 1908 (evening)
A concert of operatic excerpts by Wagner. Also, J.S. Bach, Humorous Cantata, ‘Phoebus and Pan’ and Beethoven, Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (Frtiz Kreisler, violin).

29 October 1908 (morning)
Choral music by Dvorak (Stabat Mater, op.58) and J.S. Bach (Magnificat), with solo parts by Jenny Taggart, Agnes Nicholls, Madame Kirkby Lunn, Gervase Elwes and Herbert Witherspoon. Also, orchestral music by Mozart (Symphony in G minor) and Liszt (Hungarian Rhapsody No.2).

29 October 1908 (evening)
Choral music by Elgar (Scenes from the Saga of ‘King Olaf’) and Debussy (‘The Blessed Damozel’) and orchestral music by Richard Strauss (Symphonic Poem, ‘Death and Transfiguration’) and Tchaikovsky (Overture, ‘1812’). The notes for the Elgar piece are written by Joseph Bennett. The programme lists the following vocal soloists: Miss Elsie Nicholl, Mrs Henry Wood, Mr Webster Millar and Mr Frederick Austin.

30 October 1908 (morning)
Including the first English performance of Hugo Wolf, ‘Christmas Night', a cantata for soli, chorus and orchestra, given by Agnes Nicholls and Webster Millar. Also, orchestral music by Elgar (Enigma Variations), J.S. Bach (Brandenberg Concerto No.3, first movement), Schubert (Ballet Music from Rosamunde) and Sibelius (Symphonic Poem ‘Finlandia’), and Brahms, A German Requiem (Agnes Nicholls and Dalton Baker).

30 October 1908 (evening)
Choral and orchestral concert, including the first performance of Julius Harrison, New Prize Cantata, ‘Cleopatra’, with Perceval Allen, Jessie Goldsack, Edna Thornton and Lloyd Chandos. Also, Tchaikovsky, Piano Concerto No. 1 (Teresa Carreño, piano), J.S. Bach, Motet No. 6 ‘Praise ye the Lord’, and Beethoven, Symphony No.9.

31 October 1908 (morning)
Mendelssohn, Elijah.

31 October (evening)
This collection does not include a separate programme for this performance. Information about this 'Popular Concert', given by Jenny Taggart, Edna Thornton, Webster Millar and Herbert Witherspoon (vocal) and the Festival Chorus, with F. B. Kiddle (organ), can be found in the prospectus or in the souvenir brochure (see below).

3. Illustrated Souvenir
This colour brochure includes the following items: a historical introduction tracing the development of the Festival; further reproductions of the complete set of programmes for the 1908 series of performances; biographical accounts of the conductor, leader and principal performers at the 1908 concerts; biographical accounts of some of the leading composers; a list of the members of the Festival Chorus; and 'Festival Recollections' from associated musicians. All of these articles are supplemented by photographs.
Date range of collection
1908 - 1908
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council