This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordNikisch Orchestral Concerts (1895)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Nikisch Orchestral Concerts (1895)
Unique Identifier
A collection of analytical programmes for the four Nikisch Orchestral Concerts given at the Queen's Hall, London on 15, 22 and 29 June and 6 July 1895.

These were two-part performances of nineteenth-century orchestral repertory, with occasional concerto/vocal pieces (see below), led by Maurice Sons and conducted by Arthur Nikisch.

Each programme includes a photograph of Nikisch, extensive historical and analytical notes (with musical examples) by Joseph Bennett, and a list of the orchestral ensemble.

15 June 1895: vocal music by Madame Melba and Bruch, Violin Concerto (Mr T. Adamowski, violin).
22 June 1895: Mendelssohn, Violin Concerto (no soloist listed).
29 June 1895: Polish Fantasia, written and performed by Monsieur Paderewski.
6 July 1895: Beethoven, Violin Concerto (Monsieur Achille Rivarde, violin).
Date range of collection
1895 - 1895
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751 
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council