This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordNational Gallery Concert (1940)

Collection Description

Collection Title
National Gallery Concert (1940)
Unique Identifier
A single handbill for a National Gallery Concert, given at the National Gallery, London on 19 June 1940.

This was a performance of Schubert, String Quartet in D minor 'Death and the Maiden' and Brahms, Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet in B minor, op.115, given by the Menges String Quartet (Isolde Menges, Beatrice Carrelle, John Yewe Dyer and Ivor Jones) and Frederick Thurston (clarinet).

There is a note indicating that the concert was intended to have been given by the Griller String Quartet, but that the group had to pull out due to the 'indisposition of Colin Hampton'.
Date range of collection
1940 - 1949
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council