This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordMiscellaneous Letters of Musicians (1899-1933)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Miscellaneous Letters of Musicians (1899-1933)
Unique Identifier
MS Mus. 133 A-J.
A miscellaneous collection of letters of musicians, including 2 prospectuses, 1 handbill and 2 analytical programmes for performances given at the Queen's Hall, London between May 1899 and March 1933, held as a single volume.

Also included are signed programme books for two two-part orchestral performances given by the Hallé Orchestra on 29 April 1941 and 2 November 1943 at the Champness Hall, Rochdale and an undated programme for a piano recital given by Pouishnoff for the Russell-Fielding Celebrity Features.

More detailed information about the Queen's Hall concerts is given below. The performances in Rochdale were led by Mr Laurence Turner and conducted by Malcolm Sargent/Harold Gray. Both programmes include historical and analytical notes (by Mr John F. Russell) and provide a list of the orchestral ensemble. The Pouishnoff programme includes biographical, historical and descriptive notes and bears the signature of the performer.

Queen's Hall concerts
8-13 May 1899: London Music Festival given by the Lamoureux Parisian Orchestra (conducted by Charles Lamoureux), the Queen's Hall Orchestra (conducted by Henry Wood) and the Queen's Hall Choral Society (prospectus).

27 October, 17 November and 15 December 1904 and 26 January, 16 February and 8 March 1905: London Symphony Orchestra Symphony Concerts (first series), led by Arthur W. Payne and conducted by Frederic Cowen/Arthur Nikisch/Fritz Steinbach/C. V. Stanford/Edouard Colonne/Edward Elgar (prospectus with introductory notes and a list of the orchestral ensemble).

2 January 1905: New Year's Concert by the Queen's Hall Orchestra, led by Maurice Sons and conducted by Henry J. Wood, including the first English performances of three overtures by Wagner (handbill).

14 March 1914: Queen's Hall Symphony Concerts (18th season) given by the Queen's Hall Orchestra with Alexander Scriabine [Skryabin] (piano), conducted by Henry J. Wood, including the first English performance of Skryabin, Concerto in F sharp minor for Pianoforte and Orchestra (with historical and analytical notes by Rosa Newmarch, musical examples, photographs and a list of the orchestral ensemble).

8 March 1933: BBC Symphony Orchestra Symphony Concert with May Blyth (vocal) and Adolf Busch (violin), conducted by Henry Wood, including the first English concert performance of Berg, Three Fragments from Wozzeck (with historical and analytical notes by D. Millar Craig, musical examples and photographs).
Date range of collection
1899 - 1943
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751 
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council