This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordMiddlesex Choral Union (1892-93)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Middlesex Choral Union (1892-93)
Unique Identifier
c.371.b. (2.)
A collection of programmes and wordbooks for the opening performances of the first season of the Middlesex Choral Union, given at St. James's Hall, London on 15 December 1892 and 26 April 1893.

Both programmes include a list of the orchestral ensemble, which was led by Mr Alfred Burnett and conducted by James Shaw, with Martin Shaw (organ).

15 December 1892: Handel, Joshua, prefaced by the overture to the Occasional Oratorio, with Miss Anna Williams, Miss Hilda Wilson, Mr Ben Davies, Mr E. Branscombe and Mr Robert Newman (vocal). This programme includes a brief historical note on Joshua and a number of handwritten annotations, the latter offering comments on the performance, including some observations on tempi.

26 April 1893: C.H.H. Parry, Job (conducted by the composer) and Mendelsohn, Hymn of Praise, with Miss Esther Palliser, Miss Margaret Hoare, Mr Henry Piercy, Mr Bantock Pierpoint and Mr Robert Newman (vocal).
Date range of collection
1892 - 1892
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751 
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council