This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordLondon Symphony Orchestra (1919-20)

Collection Description

Collection Title
London Symphony Orchestra (1919-20)
Unique Identifier
A complete set of analytical programmes for the six Symphony Concerts given by the London Symphony Orchestra at the Queen’s Hall, Langham Place between October 1919 and March 1920 (fourteenth season). Also, an analytical programme for the Special Symphony Concert given in aid of the London Symphony Orchestra Endowment Fund on 17 May 1920.

These were all two-part orchestral concerts with some concertante pieces and a number of first English performances (see below).

All programmes carry historical and analytical notes including musical examples (by Mr Henry Coates) and provide a list of the orchestral ensemble: unless otherwise stated, this was led by Mr W.H. Reed and conducted by Albert Coates. There are also a number of advertisements, some with programmes, for later performances in this series and for ‘other engagements’ featuring the London Symphony Orchestra.

27 October 1919: first performance of Elgar, Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra with Mr Felix Salmond (cello), conducted by the composer.
24 November 1919: [Vladimir] Rosing (vocal), including the first English orchestral performances of Rimsky-Korsakoff, Vakoula’s Air ‘Christmas Eve’ and Moussorgsky [Mussorgsky], Field-Marshal Death, ‘Death Cycle’ (with notes by Josef Holbrooke on a work of his own composition).
15 December 1919: Mr John Coates (vocal).
19 January 1920: Miss Rosina Buckman (vocal), including the first performance of Georges d’Orlay, Lyrical Symphonic Poem, ‘Flamma Artis’.
16 February 1920: Mr Albert Sammons (violin), conducted by Sir Thomas Beecham.
8 March 1920: Miss Myra Hess (piano).

17 May 1920: Special Symphony Concert in Aid of the LSO Endowment Fund, with Elsa Stralia (vocal) and Anderson Tyrer (piano) (with a notice of the performance dates for the next season of the London Symphony Orchestra Concerts).
Date range of collection
1919 - 1920
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council