This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordJohn Thomas's Grand Orchestral Concert (1867)

Collection Description

Collection Title
John Thomas's Grand Orchestral Concert (1867)
Unique Identifier
Programme with words for Mr John Thomas’s Grand Orchestral Concert given at St. James’s Hall, London, on 19 June 1867.

This was a three-part concert, with the second part consisting of The Bride of Neath Valley, a Welsh Scene composed expressly for the Chester Eisteddfod of 1866 by John Thomas, given by Miss Edith Wynne, Madame Sainton [-Dolby], Mr W. H. Cummings and Mr Lewis Thomas. The remaining acts combined vocal and orchestral repertory.

The document includes a complete list of the orchestra, led by Mr Sainton and conducted by Mr Henry Leslie, and a list of the members of the Band of Harps, namely Messrs J. Balsir Chatterton, H. J. Trust, E. Lockwood and John Thomas and Mrs Davies and Miss Trust.

There is also an introductory statement concerning the Bride of Neath Valley, written by Henry F. Chorley, who was also the librettist for the work.
Date range of collection
1867 - 1867
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council