This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordJ. Kruse´s Beethoven Festival (1903)

Collection Description

Collection Title
J. Kruse´s Beethoven Festival (1903)
Unique Identifier
e.1396.d. (1.)
A complete set of analytical programmes for the eight concerts given at the Queen’s Hall, Langham Place on 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 25 May 1903 as Professor J. Kruse’s Beethoven Festival, held as the first part of a tracted volume.

These were two-part concerts of music by Beethoven, including a complete series of the symphonies, culminating with the ‘Choral’ on 25 May 1903. The concerts were given under the direction of E.L. Robinson, led by Mr W. Frye Parker and conducted by Felix Weingartner.

The concerts on 20 and 23 May 1903 were chamber music performances, given by the Kruse String Quartet (Johann Kruse, Haydn Inwards, A.E. Ferir and Mr Percy Such).

All programmes contain wordbooks and provide historical and analytical notes, with musical examples, by Dr Ernest Walker. Each programme has an illustrated cover bearing the motto 'A Thing of Beauty is a Joy For Ever' and contains photographs of Weingartner and Kruse.

16 May 1903: including the Triple Concerto, played by Miss Fanny Davies (piano), Johann Kruse (violin) and Mr Percy Such (cello).

18 May 1903: including Symphony No.3 and an operatic excerpt performed by Miss Agnes Nicholls.

19 May 1903: including symphonies nos.4 and 5, plus the violin concerto (Kruse, violin).

20 May 1903: including String Quartet Op. 59/3 and the Septet, with Mr Claude Hobday (double bass), Mr Manuel Gomez (clarinet), Mr E.F. James (bassoon) and Mr A. Borsdorf (horn). Also, a violin sonata in A, given by Kruse and Weingartner.

21 May 1903: including symphonies nos.6 and 7 and an operatic scena given by Miss Agnes Nicholls.

22 May 1903: including the Piano Concerto No.5 (Alfred Reisenauer, piano) and Symphony No.8.

23 May 1903: including the String Quintet in C op.29, with Mr E. Tomlinson (viola). Also, a Piano Trio in B flat (op.97), and ‘An die entferne [sic] Geliebte’, performed by Ben Davies.

25 May 1903: including Symphony No.9, with Miss Agnes Nicholls, Mr William Green, Miss Muriel Foster and Mr Ffrangcon-Davies (vocal) and the chorus of the Dulwich Philharmonic Society (conducted by Arthur Fagge). Also, Overture, op.115, and Fantasia for Pianoforte, Chorus and Orchestra, op. 80 (Alfred Reisenauer, piano).
Date range of collection
1903 - 1903
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council