This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordHonolulu Symphony Orchestra (1974)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Honolulu Symphony Orchestra (1974)
Unique Identifier
A programme book for the 9th Subscription Concert of the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra (73rd season), given in the Honolulu Concert Hall on 3 and 5 March 1974, held as the first envelope within the single box-file comprising the papers of the English composer and conductor Fritz Hart (1874-1949): Hart was musical director of the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra between 1932 and 1949.

The concert was a two-part orchestral performance, given with Fou Ts'ong (piano) and conducted by Robert LaMarchina, including the world premiere of Fritz Hart, A Dedication, symphonic essay for orchestra, op. 172.

The booklet includes historical and descriptive Programme Notes by Lee Winters, biographical notes (with photographs) on the conductor and soloist, and a list of the orchestral ensemble. There are also extensive lists of the members etc of the Honolulu Symphony Society.

Held with the programme are various press cuttings and other publications relating to the performance. There is also, a document entitled 'Fritz Hart: Building the Honolulu Symphony for 18 Years'.
Date range of collection
1974 - 1974
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

Royal College of Music, Library
Prince Consort Road London SW7 2BS United Kingdom
Open Map
020 7591 4323
020 7589 7740 
Visiting Information
Loans of performance sets to individual societies or persons; binding; reprographics; photocopying; microform printing
Collections Overview
Founded in 1883, the RCM Library primarily supports the performance, study and research of RCM members. It is also open to the public for reference and research. It contains some 300,000 items, including significant collections of early printed and manuscript material from the 16th to 19th centuries, given to the College upon its foundation, specifically the Libraries of the Sacred Harmonic Society and of the Concerts of Ancient Music. Donations since have included autographs of composers of international renown, amongst them Beethoven, Chopin, Haydn, Mozart and Schubert, as well as manuscripts and archives of major British composers. Although a British bias is apparent, the collection also has significant German and Italian manuscripts and early printed holdings. Later acquisitions of printed music include large quantities of out-of-print material, and sizeable collections of performance sets. Audio-visual holdings and the RCM's own sound archive's are also extensive.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council