This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordHereford Music Meeting (1906)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Hereford Music Meeting (1906)
Unique Identifier
A collection comprising the prospectus and a largely complete set of programmes and wordbooks for the four morning and four evening performances given between 11 and 14 September 1906 as the Hereford Musical Festival/183rd meeting of the Three Choirs of Hereford, Gloucester and Worcester (missing the wordbook for the fifth performance), held with information regarding the Opening Service, given on 9 September 1906.

The evening performances on 12 and 14 September 1906 were given at the Shire Hall, Hereford. The remainder took place in the Cathedral, Hereford. Many concerts included works written specifically for the festival and conducted by their composer.

9 September 1906 (afternoon): Grand Opening Service with Chorus and Orchestra.

11 September 1906 (morning): Mendelssohn, Elijah.
11 September 1906 (evening): H. Walford Davies, Lift Up Your Hearts, a sacred symphony in F, for bass solo, chorus and orchestra, with Mr Plunket Greene (composed for this festival and conducted by the composer). Also, Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius.

12 September 1906 (morning): C.H.H. Parry, The Soul’s Ransom, A Psalm for the Poor, for soprano and baritone soli, chorus and orchestra (composed for this festival and conducted by the composer). Also, J.S. Bach, Mass in B minor (selections), Wagner, Prelude to Parsifal and Brahms, Symphony No.3.
12 September 1906 (evening): A Grand Concert of vocal and instrumental music, including commissioned works by A. Herbert Brewer and Josef Holbrooke (conducted by the composers) and a performance of Elgar, Introduction and Allegro for Strings (conducted by the composer).

13 September 1906 (morning): Elgar, The Apostles.
13 September 1906 (evening): Berlioz, Te Deum and Mendelssohn, Lobgesang.

14 September 1906 (morning): Handel, The Messiah.
14 September 1906 (evening): A Chamber Concert.

The prospectus provides detailed information regarding the vocal and instrumental performers engaged (see below) and provides lists of the choral and orchestral ensembles, led by Mr W. Frye Parker, with Mr Ivor Atkins and Dr A. Herbert Brewer (organ), conducted by Dr G.R. Sinclair.

Vocal: Madame Albani, Madame Mary Conly, Miss Gleeson-White, Miss Agnes Nicholls and Madame Siviter; Madame Ada Crossley, Miss Muriel Foster and Miss Gwladys Roberts; Mr Henry Beaumont, Mr John Coates, Mr Ben Davies and Mr William Green; Mr Dalton Baker, Mr Ffrangcon Davies, Mr Plunket Greene, Mr William Higley and Mr Watkin Mills.
Instrumental: Miss Evangeline Anthony (violin) with The Nora Clench String Quartet.

The prospectus also includes extensive lists of the stewards for the Festival, a copy of the Festival regulations and a list of the daily services (with details regarding repertory) taking place at the Cathedral.

All programmes include the text for the vocal pieces, an indication of the distribution of the solo parts and some brief historical programme notes. They also provide starting and predicted finishing times. The programme for the Opening Service includes the words and music for the Preces and Responses to be sung.
Date range of collection
1906 - 1906
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751 
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council