This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordHallé Concerts Society (1898-99)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Hallé Concerts Society (1898-99)
Unique Identifier
A complete set of analytical programmes for the twenty Hallé Concerts given at an unspecified venue in Manchester between October 1898 and March 1899.

Unless otherwise stated below, these were two-part orchestral concerts, typically with one vocal and instrumental solo/concertante piece in each part (see below).

All concerts were conducted by Frederic H. Cowen and all programmes carry full lists of both the orchestral and choral ensembles. Where appropriate, the choral direction was provided by R.H. Wilson and the organ played by C.H. Fogg.

All programmes carry historical and analytical notes (with musical examples and the text for the vocal pieces) by Edgar F. Jacques. The volume concludes with an index of the works performed during the season, which included a complete cycle of the Beethoven symphonies. In reference to the instrumental/orchestral works, the programmes consistently cite the number of performances so far given at the series and record the date of the most recent performance. A number of works given this season were receiving their first performance at the series. Those works being performed for the very first time, or for the first time in Manchester, are listed below.

All programmes carry an advertisement, with programme, for the next performance in the series. There are also a number of notices relating to publications offered by the Forsyth Brothers.

20 October 1898: with Clara Butt (vocal) and Leonora Jackson (violin), including the first complete performance of Tchaikovsky, Suite for Orchestra, No.3 in G.
27 October 1898: A Wagner Evening, given by Madame Medora Henson and Mr Edward Lloyd (vocal).
3 November 1898: with Miss Giulia Ravogli (vocal) and Herr Liebling (piano) (with an insert describing some minor changes to the works sung by Ravogli, who was herself a replacement for Madame Blanche Marchesi).
10 November 1898: Berlioz, Faust, with Helen Jaxon, Lloyd Chandos, A.S. Kinnell, and Andrew Black (vocal).
17 November 1898: with Lillian Blauvelt (vocal) and Mr Moszkowski (piano), both of whom were making their first appearance in Manchester.
24 November 1898: with Madame Marie Brema (vocal) and Mr Willy Hess (violin).
1 December 1898: Elgar, King Olaf (first time in Manchester) and Richard Wagner, Lohengrin (first act), with Madame Medora Henson, Madame Sadler-Fogg, Mr Ben Davies, Mr Arthur Barlow, Mr A.S. Kinnell and Mr Andrew Black.
8 December 1898: with Monsieur Paderewski (piano) (with an insert regarding the enforced withdrawal of Cowen and his replacement by Mr Brodsky).
15 and 16 December 1898: Handel, Messiah, with Esther Palliser, Clara Butt, Edward Lloyd and Mr Santley (vocal).
22 December 1898: with Miss Mabel Berrey (vocal) and Mr Busoni (piano), including the first Manchester performances of Tchaikovsky, Suite 'Mozartiana' and Godard, Scénes Poètiques, 'On the Mountains' and 'Village Life'.
12 January 1899: with Mr James McInnes and Madame Ruth Lamb (vocal) and Lady Hallé (violin).
19 January 1899: with Ben Davies (vocal) and Margaret Pierrepont (piano).
26 January 1899: with Esther Palliser, Teresa Blamy, Florence Oliver, Douglas Powell and Edward Lloyd (vocal), including the first Manchester performances of Cowen, Ruth (a dramatic oratorio) and Verdi, Stabat Mater.
2 February 1899: Mr Santley (vocal) and Adolf Brodsky (violin).
9 February 1899: with Miss Pauline Joran (vocal) and Mr Leonard Borwick (piano).
16 February 1899: Mendelssohn, Elijah, with Mabel Berrey, Ada Crossley, Hirwen Jones, Mr Santley, Mrs Pashley, Mrs Amy Tonge, Mr A.J. Holt, Mr Richardson and Master Herbert Millward (vocal).
23 February 1899: with Miss Esther Palliser (vocal) and Mr Carl Fuchs (cello).
2 March 1899: with Madame Alice Lamb (vocal) and Joachim (violin).
9 March 1899: with Mrs Helen Trust (vocal) and Dr Joachim (violin).
16 March 1899: Beethoven, Symphony No.9, with Alice Esty, Florence Oliver, Ivor McKay and Douglas Powell. Also, Mr W. Lalande (vocal).
Date range of collection
1898 - 1899
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council