This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordGrand Operatic Concerts (1893)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Grand Operatic Concerts (1893)
Unique Identifier
e.1402.a. (1.)
A collection of programmes and wordbooks for seven performances presented by Sir Augustus Harris, given at St. James's Hall, London on 18 May, 8, 15, 22 and 29 June and 7 and 13 July 1893.

The first five performances were described as Grand Operatic Concerts, the sixth as a Grand Orchestral Operatic Concert and the last as a Grand Wagner Orchestral Concert. All were two-part performances of operatic excerpts with instrumental solos.

The programmes provide detailed information regarding the performers: see below for a record of the vocal and instrumental soloists. All performances featured the violinist Tivadar Nachez and the last three in the series included orchestral overtures performed by the orchestra of the Royal Opera, Covent Garden.

A number of conductors are listed for each concert: Signor Bevignani (not no.6), Mr Randegger, Herr Saar, Mr G. Clutsam, Herr Feld, Wilhelm Ganz, Signor Mancinelli, Signor Romili (not no.2) and Herr Steinbach (no.7 only).

Many programmes carry handwritten annotations indicating changes/corrections to the printed programme.

18 May 1893: Mademoiselle Sofia Ravogli and Miss Esther Palliser (soprano); Madame Armand and Mademoiselle Giulia Ravogli (alto); Monsieur Bonnard and Signor Giannini (tenor); Mr David Bispham (baritone); and Monsieur Plancon and Charles Manners (bass), with Master Jean Gerardy (cello).

8 June 1893: Mademoiselles Biancoli, Dagmar and Meisslinger, Sofia and Giulia Ravogli; Miss Marie Brema, Miss Esther Palliser; Madame Armand, Madame Sigrid Arnoldson and Frau Moran-Olden; Signor Morello and Signor Salvaterra; Herr H. Wiegand, Herr Max Alvary, Monsieur Plancon and Mr Richard Green (vocal), with Miss Frieda Simonson (aged 8, piano).

15 June 1893: Frau Moran-Olden, Madame Vasquez, Mademoiselle Dagmar and Madame Sigrid Arnoldson (soprano); Madame Armand, Mademoiselle Guercia and Mademoiselle Meisslinger (alto); Herr Max Alvary, Signor Gianini and Monsieur Bonnard (tenor); Herr H. Wiegand and Signor Pignalosa (bass), with Miss Clara Eissler (harp).

22 June 1893: Madame Moran-Olden, Madame Sigrid Arnoldson, Miss Esther Palliser, Miss Lucile Hill, Mademoiselle Cecile Brandi and Mademoiselle Angela Wilmor (soprano); Madame Armand and Miss Marie Brema (alto); Herr Max Alvary, Signor Giannini and Monsieur Alvarez (tenor); and Monsieur Plancon, Signor Viterbo and Monsieur Dufriche (bass), with Mr Isidor Cohn (piano).

29 June 1893: Madame Moran-Olden, Madame Vasquez, Madame Sigrid Arnoldson, Mademoiselle Sofia Ravogli and Miss Florence Monteith (soprano); Mademoiselle Meisslinger and Madame Armand (alto); Herr Max Alvary and Monsieur Alvarez (tenor); and Monsieur Plancon, Herr H. Wiegand and Monsieur Ancona (bass), with Miss Muriel Elliot (piano).

7 July 1893: Frau Moran-Olden, Miss Lucile Hill, Mademoiselle Dagmar and Miss Esther Palliser (soprano); Madamoiselle Giulia Ravogli, Miss Marie Brema, Mademoiselle Meisslinger and Mademoiselle Guercia (alto); Monsieur Alvarez, Monsieur Bonnard and Herr Max Alvary (tenor); and Monsieur Plancon and Herr H. Wiegand (bass), with Chevalier Emil Bach (piano).

13 July 1893: Madame Vasquez, Mademoiselle Alva and Madame Reuss-Belce (soprano); Miss Marie Brema, Miss Luranah Aldridge and Mademoiselle Meisslinger (alto); Herr Max Alvary and Signor Filippi (tenor); and Mr David Bispham and Herr H. Wiegand (bass), with Miss Muriel Elliot and Mr. Edgar Hulland (piano).
Date range of collection
1893 - 1893
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751 
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council