This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordEric Coates (1940-68)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Eric Coates (1940-68)
Unique Identifier
A miscellaneous collection of programmes for concerts including music by the English viola player and composer Eric Coates (1886–1957), given at various venues in England between 1940 and 1968, held within a box of material relating to Coates.

The collection also includes a handbill for a Festconcert of music by Coates, given on 7 October 1955 at the Koncertsalen [Kopenhavn] by the Statsradiofoniens Symfoniorkester, with Aage Voss (saxophone).

All of the performances featured Coates, either as the principal conductor or as the director of his own work(s).

19 November [1940], Palace Theatre, Manchester: One Hour of Eric Coates' Works, given by the London Philharmonic Orchestra with Eileen Joyce (piano).

30 November 1940, Leeds Empire: Eric Coates' Works, given by the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

10 November 1945, County Technical College Hall, Guildford: 3 Orchestral Subscription Concerts no.2 given by the Guildford Symphony Orchestra with Frederick Grinke (violin), conducted by Claud Powell, including Coates, Suite, The Three Elizabeths and R. Vaughan Williams, Symphony in D (conducted by the composer) (with notes).

18 June 1953, Liverpool Stadium: Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Coronation Prom, with Manoug Parikian (violin), conducted by Hugo Rignold (with Analytical Notes by A. K. Holland and a list of the orchestral ensemble).

13 April 1957, Royal Albert Hall: Royal Air Force Anniversary Concert, given in aid of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund by the Hallé Orchestra, the Central Band of the Royal Air Force, the Alexandra Choir and the Board of Trade Choir, with Constance Shacklock (vocal), conducted by Sir John Barbirolli, Charles Proctor and Wing Commander A. E. Sims (with biographical notes and photographs).

18 August 1956, Royal Albert Hall: Henry Wood Promenade Concert (62nd season), with Adèle Leigh (vocal) and Campoli (violin) with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Sir Malcolm Sargent, including Coates, Suite, Four Centuries (with Notes by Scott Goddard).

6 July 1957, Royal Festival Hall: Light Programme Music Festival, given by the BBC Concert Orchestra, the Band and Trumpeters of the Royal Military School of Music and the Danish State Radio Entertainment Choir, conducted by Vilem Tausky, including William Alwyn, Elizabethan Dances (BBC Commission, first performance, conducted by the composer) (with notes by Spike Hughes, biographical notes, photographs and a list of the orchestral ensemble).

19 October 1957, St. Andrew's Hall, Norwich: Saturday Popular Concert Orchestra presented by the BBC Light Programme and given by the BBC Concert Orchestra with Frederick Harvey (baritone), conducted by Vilem Tausky (with a list of the orchestral ensemble).

26 November 1957, Royal Festival Hall: Royal Concert/St. Cecilia's Festival, given in aid of the Musicians' Benevolent Fund by the BBC Concert Orchestra and Chorus, conducted by Vilem Tausky, with Malcolm Arnold and Sir Arthur Bliss, including Coates, Elizabeth of Glamis (with brief programme notes, biographical notes, photographs and a list of the choral and orchestral ensembles).

6 July 1968, Queen Elizabeth Hall: Music for Pleasure, given by the London Concert Orchestra for the Light Music Society, conducted by Maurice Handford and including Eric Coates, London Suite (London Again) (with historical, descriptive and biographical notes, photographs and a list of the orchestral ensemble).
Date range of collection
1940 - 1968
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Times

Location Details

Royal College of Music, Library
Prince Consort Road London SW7 2BS United Kingdom
Open Map
020 7591 4323
020 7589 7740
Visiting Information
Loans of performance sets to individual societies or persons; binding; reprographics; photocopying; microform printing
Collections Overview
Founded in 1883, the RCM Library primarily supports the performance, study and research of RCM members. It is also open to the public for reference and research. It contains some 300,000 items, including significant collections of early printed and manuscript material from the 16th to 19th centuries, given to the College upon its foundation, specifically the Libraries of the Sacred Harmonic Society and of the Concerts of Ancient Music. Donations since have included autographs of composers of international renown, amongst them Beethoven, Chopin, Haydn, Mozart and Schubert, as well as manuscripts and archives of major British composers. Although a British bias is apparent, the collection also has significant German and Italian manuscripts and early printed holdings. Later acquisitions of printed music include large quantities of out-of-print material, and sizeable collections of performance sets. Audio-visual holdings and the RCM's own sound archive's are also extensive.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council