This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordCrystal Palace Saturday Concerts: Box 10 (1880-81)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts: Box 10 (1880-81)
Unique Identifier
A collection of programme books for the Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts 1880-81 season (nos. 1-13 and 15-18), conducted by August Manns, held as individual items within the tenth of 29 boxes.

This box also includes programme books for two Special Concerts, given on 19 and 26 June 1880, also conducted by Manns.

All programmes include words and carry historical and analytical notes, with musical examples, the majority by George Grove, some with annotations/corrections in his hand.

1880-81 season (nos. 1-13 and 15-18)
9 October 1880: Mrs Osgood (vocal) and Madame Montigny Rémaury (piano), including the first English performance of Raff, Symphony, In Summer-Time, no. 9.
16 October 1880: Mademoiselle Louise Pyk (vocal) and Oscar Beringer (piano), including the first performances of Beringer, Andante and Presto Agitato in E for pianoforte and orchestra and Svendsen, The Carnival in Paris, Episode for Orchestra. Also, the first English performance of Verdi, Ave Maria, for soprano and strings.
23 October 1880: Mr Santley (vocal) and Mr Sutton (violin).
30 October 1880: Mademoiselle Louise Pyk (vocal) and Herr Bonawitz (piano), including the first English performances of Bonawitz, Concerto for Pianoforte and Orchestra in A minor, op. 36 and Massenet, Two Orchestral Movements from 'La Vierge'.
6 November 1880: Madame Koch-Bossenberger (vocal) and Herr Ludwig Straus (viola), including the first English performance of Mozart, Serenade for Stringed Orchestra ('Eine Kleine Nachtmusik') and Saint-Saens, Overture to 'La Princesse Jaune'.
13 November 1880: Miss Annie Marriott (vocal) and Mr Charles Hallé (piano), including the first London performance of Goetz, Concerto for Pianoforte and Orchesta in B flat, op. 18.
20 November 1880: Madame Sophie Lowe and Madame Isabel Fassett (vocal) with Madame Frickenhaus (piano), including the first English performance of Hiller, Orchestral Piece, 'The Sentinel'.
27 November 1880: Mr Edward Lloyd (vocal) and Monsieur Hollman (cello), including the first English performance of Saint-Saens, Violoncello Concerto. Also, the first performances of Mozart, Adagio in A for Violin, viola and bass and Ponchielli, Ballet Airs from 'Le Due Gemelle'.
4 December 1880: Mademoiselle Louise Pyk (vocal) and Mademoiselle Janotha (piano).
11 December 1880: Sullivan, The Martyr of Antioch, with Mrs Osgood, Madame Patey, Mr Edward Lloyd, Mr Henry Cross and Mr Frederick King, the Crystal Palace Choir and Mr Alfred J. Eyre (organ), conducted by the composer.
18 December 1880: Mr Oswald (vocal) and Mons. Emil Sauret (violin), including the first English performance of Gernsheim, New Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D, op. 42.
5 February 1881: Mr Santley (vocal) and Mr Eugene d'Albert (piano), including the first performance of Schubert, Symphony No. 1 in D.
12 February 1881: Mr Herbert Reeves (vocal) and Herr Ignatz Brüll (piano), including the first performance of Brüll, Concerto No. 1 for Pianoforte and Orchestra and first English performance of Rubinstein, Ballet Divertissement, 'Nero'.
26 February 1881: Mr Edward Lloyd (vocal) and Robert Hausmann (cello).
5 March 1881: Mademoiselle Orgényi (vocal) and Herr Joachim (violin), including the first English performance of Smetana, Symphonic Poem, 'Vltava'.
12 March 1881: Madame Patey and Mr Frank Boyle (vocal) with Herr Barth (piano), including the first English performance of Bandini, Symphonic Poem, 'Eleonora'.
19 March 1881: Miss Robertson and Mr Edward Lloyd (vocal), including the first performance of H. Gadsby, Columbus, a dramatic cantata, for tenor solo, male voice choir and orchestra, conducted by the composer.

Special Concerts
19 June 1880: Mademoiselle Zara Thalberg (vocal) and M. Joseph Wieniawski (piano).
26 June 1880: Mr Maas (vocal) and Madame Norman-Neruda (violin).
Date range of collection
1880 - 1881
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

Royal College of Music, Library
Prince Consort Road London SW7 2BS United Kingdom
Open Map
020 7591 4323
020 7589 7740
Visiting Information
Loans of performance sets to individual societies or persons; binding; reprographics; photocopying; microform printing
Collections Overview
Founded in 1883, the RCM Library primarily supports the performance, study and research of RCM members. It is also open to the public for reference and research. It contains some 300,000 items, including significant collections of early printed and manuscript material from the 16th to 19th centuries, given to the College upon its foundation, specifically the Libraries of the Sacred Harmonic Society and of the Concerts of Ancient Music. Donations since have included autographs of composers of international renown, amongst them Beethoven, Chopin, Haydn, Mozart and Schubert, as well as manuscripts and archives of major British composers. Although a British bias is apparent, the collection also has significant German and Italian manuscripts and early printed holdings. Later acquisitions of printed music include large quantities of out-of-print material, and sizeable collections of performance sets. Audio-visual holdings and the RCM's own sound archive's are also extensive.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council