This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordCity of Birmingham Orchestra (1920-21)

Collection Description

Collection Title
City of Birmingham Orchestra (1920-21)
Unique Identifier
A collection of analytical programmes for six concerts given by the City of Birmingham Orchestra in the Town Hall, Birmingham during the 1920-21 season.

These were two-part concerts of orchestral and orchestrally-accompanied works, including a relatively large amount of music by contemporary English composers and a number of pieces receiving their first performance in Birmingham.

Each programme includes historical and analytical notes (with musical examples) by A.J. Sheldon, a list of the committee and guarantors for the concerts and a list of the orchestral ensemble, led by Alex Cohen. Many programmes also include brief advertisements for other concerts in Birmingham.

10 November 1920: A concert of music by Elgar, given with Felix Salmond (cello) and conducted by the composer, including the first Birmingham performances of Symphonic Study ‘Falstaff’, op.68 and Cello Concerto (with an extended biographical note on Elgar and a photograph of him).
15 December 1920: Rosina Buckman (vocal), conducted by Hamilton Harty (with a photograph of Harty).
19 January 1921: Appleby Matthews Choir, including the first Birmingham performance of Vaughan Williams, A London Symphony, conducted by the composer (with a picture/sketch of Vaughan Williams).
9 February 1921: Dorothy Silk (vocal), conducted by Adrian Boult, including the presentation of the Gold Medal of the Birmingham Civic Society to Mr Appleby Matthews (with a photograph of Boult and an advertisement for a concert of music by Sibelius to be conducted by the composer, at the Theatre Royal on 20 February 1921).
9 March 1921: Alex Cohen (violin), with Margaret Harrison, Hilda Raybould, Geoffrey Dams and Neale Peck (vocal) and the Appleby Matthews choir, conducted by Appleby Matthews, including Beethoven, Symphony no.9 (with a photograph of Cohen).
6 April 1921: conducted by Landon Ronald, inclduing the first Birmingham performance of Ronald, Suite ‘The Garden of Allah’.
Date range of collection
1920 - 1921
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council