This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordCarl Newton collection: Philharmonia Orchestra and miscellaneous programmes (1930-91)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Carl Newton collection: Philharmonia Orchestra and miscellaneous programmes (1930-91)
Unique Identifier
Mus 319.c.24
A miscellaneous collection of 17 programme books for performances given by the Philharmonia Orchestra at the Royal Festival Hall, London between 1979 and 1991. Also, prospectuses and programmes for the Norfolk and Norwich Triennial Musical Festival of 1930 and the Leeds Triennial Musical Festival of1947 and miscellaneous programmes and wordbooks for five London performances given between 1948 and 1961. All items are held loosely as the 24th box of the Carl Newton collection.

1. Philharmonia Orchestra
All programmes contain words and notes, including biographical notes with photographs and lists of the orchestral ensemble.
10 July 1979: Pascal Rogé (piano), conducted by Charles Dutoit.
7 December 1982: Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius, given by Dame Janet Baker, Ryland Davies and Robert Lloyd (vocal) with the Philharmonia Chorus, conducted by Andrew Davis.
21 March 1984: Salvatore Accardo (violin), conducted by Bernard Haitink.
25 March 1984: Isobel Buchanan, Alfreda Hodgson, Maldwyn Davies and Brian Rayner-Cook (vocal) and the Philharmonia Chorus, conducted by Andrew Davis.
28 November 1985: Malcolm Frager (piano), conducted by Thomas Sanderling.
4 December 1985: Lynn Harrell (cello), conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli.
20 February 1986: Britten and Elgar, with Felicity Lott (vocal), conducted by Andrew Davis.
24 March 1986: Elgar, The Apostles, with the Philharmonia Chorus and the chorus of the Royal College of Music Junior Department, conducted by Andrew Davis.
27 March 1986: Britten/Elgar with Robert Tear (vocal), conducted by Andrew Davis.
17 March 1987: Matt Haimovitz (cello), conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli.
3 October 1987: Meyrick Alexander (bassoon), conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli.
28 March 1989: Ida Haendel (violin), conducted by Andrew Davis, including the world premiere of Robin Holloway, Panorama.
9 April 1989: Elgar, The Dream of Gerontius, with Alfreda Hodgson, Keith Lewis and Gwynne Howell (vocal) and the Philharmonia Chorus, conducted Andrew Davis.
6 December 1989: Penelope Walker (mezzo-soprano), conducted by Barry Wordsworth.
12 March 1990: Mischa Maisky (cello), conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli.
16 June 1990: Berlioz, The Damnation of Faust, with Maria Ewing, Jerry Hadley, David Wilson-Johnson and Roderick Earle (vocal) and the Philharmonia Chorus, conducted by Charles Dutoit.
17 December 1991: Susan Dunn and Linda Finnie (vocal) and the Philharmonia Chorus, conducted by Lorin Maazel.

2. Festival material
22-25 October 1930: Norfolk and Norwich Triennial Musical Festival (prospectus)
7-11 October 1947, Town Hall, Leeds: four documents relating to the Leeds Triennial Musical Festival, given with the Hallé Orchestra and the Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Mr John Barbirolli and Dr Malcolm Sargent, being the first edition of the prospectus, the Souvenir Programme and programmes with notes for the evening performances given on 7 and 11 October. Both the prospectus and the Souvenir Programme include outline programmes and detailed information regarding the performers and organizers of the event: the Souvenir Programme provides lists of the choral and orchestral ensembles and includes photographs of the performers. The programmes repeat much of the information about the personnel and provided extended historical and analytical notes (with words and musical examples).

3. London performances
All programmes incorporate wordbooks and all concerts, unless otherwise stated, were given at the Royal Albert Hall.

- Royal Choral Society
All concerts were given with the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Sir Malcolm Sargent, and the vocal soloists listed below.
27 November 1954: Vaughan Williams concert with Elsie Morison and Bruce Boyce.
8 January 1955: Handel, The Messiah, with Jennifer Vyvyan, Marjorie Thomas, William Herbert and Trevor Anthony.
7 November 1957: Elgar, The Apostles, with Lois Marshall, Monica Sinclair, Eric Greene, Geraint Evans, Owen Brannigan and Richard Standen.

- Miscellaneous London performances
12 March 1948, Royal Albert Hall: Handel, The Messiah given by Mary Hamlin, Muriel Gale, William Herbert and Stanley Clarkson (vocal) and the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Charles Proctor.
17 December 1961, Royal Festival Hall: Carols, given by the Goldsmiths' Choral Union with Edwin Benbow and Hubert Dawkes (pianos), conducted by Frederick Haggis.
Date range of collection
1930 - 1991
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

Bodleian Library, Music Library
Broad Street,Music Library Oxford OX1 3BG
Open Map
01865 277063
01865 277182
Visiting Information
Membership fee for users outside the UK academic community; charges for photocopying and inter-library loans
Collections Overview
The collection has very strong holdings of British music and related material acquired in part by legal deposit. Many collected editions and scholarly series. Very strong periodical coverage, including major 19thC European journals. Largest collection of American song material in UK.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council