This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordBurgtheater, Vienna (1785)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Burgtheater, Vienna (1785)
Unique Identifier
Single-sided handbill for a concert of the Vienna Tonkünstler Societät (Musicians’ Benevolent Society), given at the Burgtheater, Vienna on 13 March 1785.

This was a two-part miscellaneous concert, opening with a ‘new symphony’ by Haydn and including the first performance of Mozart, Davide Penitente, given by Valentin Adamberger (tenor) and Caterina Cavalieri (soprano), directed by Mozart. The performance also included arias and choruses by Leopold Gassmann and an oboe concerto performed by Ludwig August Lebrun.

All programme details and other information regarding the performance are printed in Italian.
Date range of collection
1785 - 1785
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council