This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordBristol Musical Festival (1912)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Bristol Musical Festival (1912)
Unique Identifier
A collection comprising the prospectus, programmes and wordbooks for four morning and four evening performances – including a complete performance of Wagner, The Ring Cycle, presented in an English translation by Frederic Jameson – given between 23 and 26 October 1912 at the Colston Hall, Bristol as the Thirteenth Bristol Musical Festival, arranged chronologically in a bound volume.

All programmes include historical and analytical notes (with musical examples) by Herbert Thompson, Percy Pitt and Alfred Kalisch.

23 October 1912
Morning: Mendelssohn, Elijah.
Evening: Wagner, Das Rheingold.

24 October 1912
Morning: Wagner, Die Walküre.
Evening: Chopin, Piano Concerto in F minor; Elgar, Caractacus; and Percy Pitt, An English Rhapsody for Full Orchestra (conducted by the composer).

25 October 1912
Morning: Wagner, Siegfried.
Evening: Beethoven, Violin concerto and Saint-Saens, Samson and Delilah.

26 October 1912
Morning: Wagner, Götterdämmerung.
Evening: Grand Miscellaneous Concert, including Schubert, Unfinished Symphony, Tchaikovsky, Overture 1812 and Leone Sinigaglia, Suite per Orchestra, 'Piemonte' (first performance in the provinces).

This material includes detailed information regarding the principal vocal and instrumental performers and a complete list of the Bristol Festival Orchestra, conducted by Mr George Riseley. There are also biographical notes with photographs, lists of the patrons, committee members and guarantors of the Festival and details regarding arrangements for the event, including the price of admission and the arrangement of seats.

Vocalists: Misses Agnes Nicholls, Perceval Allen, Alice Prowse, Mabel Manson, Alice Hare, Lillian Coomber, Phyllis Lett, Edith Clegg, Maria Yelland, Marion Beeley, Dilys Jones and Gertrude Winchester; Herr Peter Cornelius, Mr Morgan Kingston, Mr Lloyd Chandos, Herr Hans Bechstein, Mr Clarence Whitehill, Mr Frederic Austin, Mr Charles Knowles, Mr Robert Radford, Mr Dalton Baker Mr Arthur Winckworth and Mr Percy Heming.
Instrumental: Paderewski (violin), Fritz Kreisler (violin) and Mr G. Herbert Riseley (organist).
Date range of collection
1912 - 1912
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library
The British Library St Pancras ,96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
+44 (0)870 444
Visiting Information
Internet 24/7
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council