This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordArányi Collection: Volume 1 (1907-13)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Arányi Collection: Volume 1 (1907-13)
Unique Identifier
A collection of handbills, programmes, press cuttings and other printed ephemera relating to performances given by the violinist sisters Adila Fachiri and Jelly d'Arányi between 1907 and 1913, held as the first of 12 volumes/boxes forming the Arányi Collection (1907–56).

All of the concerts documented here featured Jelly d’Aranyi. Except at the performance on 23 November 1907 and at the concert in Utrecht in 1911, she appeared alongside Adila Fachiri. Additional performers are listed below.

Items are listed here in chronological order. Unless otherwise stated, documentation for each performance consists of a handbill.

23 November 1907, Saal der Sing-Akademie, Berlin: Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, directed by Ernst Kunwald.

10 October 1908, no venue [Hungary]:

3 July 1911, Princes' Galleries, Piccadilly: Soirée Musicale in aid of the funds of the Francis Joseph Institute, with Mr Alex. Disraeli, Mr Paul Reimers, Mr Carmen Hill, Madame Kirkby Lunn and Miss Clara Evelyn (vocal), Hortense von Aranyi and Wilhelm Backhaus (piano), Mischa Elman (violin) and Herr Carl Heubert's Vienna Orchestra, conducted by Mr Richard Epstein

[no date, 1911], Utrecht: Georges Enderlé (piano).

16, 23 and 30 October, 6, 13, 20 and 27 November and 4, 11 and 18 December 1912, Bechstein Hall: Classical Concert Society Ten Concerts of Classical Chamber Music (prospectus).

17 and 31 October and 21 November 1912 and 6 and 27 February 13 March 1913, [no venue]: Northlands Concerts of Chamber Music, with Miss Kate Friskin and Mr Donald F. Tovey (piano), Adolph Busch (violin), Mr Ernest Tomlinson (viola), Mr Percy Such (cello), Mr Charles Draper (clarinet) and the Klingler String Quartet (programme sheets).

3 December 1912, Kronensaale, Bregenz: I. Konzert of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde with Hortense Aranyi (piano).
Date range of collection
1907 - 1913
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council