This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordAdelina Patti Concerts (1889-94)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Adelina Patti Concerts (1889-94)
Unique Identifier
e.1399. (3.)
A collection of programmes and wordbooks for eleven concerts given at the Royal Albert Hall, London between October 1889 and July 1894, all of which involved the vocalist Adelina Patti, arranged chronologically in a bound volume.

The concerts were of two types: those presented by Mr Kuhe (3 items, 1889-91) and those given by Messrs Harrison (1890-94). Those in 1889 and 1890 were evening performances whilst those from 1892 were described as Grand Morning Concerts.

Unless otherwise stated below, these were two-part performances of vocal and instrumental solos, directed/accompanied by Wilhelm Ganz. Until the end of 1892, the concerts typically included orchestral overtures at the beginning of each half and at the end of the performance.

Almost all of these programmes include handwritten annotations, which provide comments on the nature of the performance, record corrections/changes to the printed programme, and offer a record of those works which were encored.

1. Mr Kuhe's Concerts
21 October 1889: Madame Patey, Mr Edward Lloyd and Mr Barrington Foote (vocal) with Madame Neruda (violin), Mr Leo Stern (cello), Dr Louis Engel (harmonium) and Miss Kuhe (piano).
4 November 1889: Mademoiselle Douilly and Mrs Henschel, Mr Edward Lloyd, Mr Durward Lely and Mr Henschel (vocal) with Johannes Wolff (violin).
30 May 1891: Miss Alice Esty, Madame Antoinette Sterling, Mr Edward Lloyd and Signor Foli (vocal) with Monsieur Paderewski (piano), Johannes Wolff (violin) and Joseph Hollman (cello). Also, the Nottingham Philharmonic Choir, conducted by Mr Marshall Ward (wordbook only)

2. Messrs Harrison's Concerts
3 November 1890: Mademoiselle Douilly, Miss Eleanor Rees, Mr Edward Lloyd, Mr Durward Lely and Mr Barrington Foote (vocal) with Mr Schönberger (piano).
19 November 1890: Miss Alice Gomez, Miss Alice Hill, Signor Novara and Mr Sims Reeves (vocal) with Miss Marianne Eissler (violin), Miss Clara Eissler (harp) and Chevalier Emil Bach (piano).
11 June 1892: Madame Amy Sherwin, Madame Patey, Mr Ben Davies, Mr Charles Chilley and Mr Santley (vocal) with Madame Marguerite de Pachmann (piano) and Master Jean Gerardy (cello), conducted by Signor Arditi, accompanied by Messrs. Sieveking and Waddington Cooke.
3 June 1893: Madame Alice Gomez, Mr Ben Davies and Mr Santley (vocal) with Madame de Pachmann (piano), Miss Marianne Eissler (violin), Mr Edwin H. Lemare (organ) and Miss Clara Eissler (harp). Also the Meister Glee Singers (Messrs W. Sexton, Gregory Hast, W.G. Forington, Webster Norcross). The annotations to the programme and wordbook are particularly extensive and include some sketches of the performers.
1 July 1893: Madame Amy Sherwin, Madame Patey, Madame Alice Gomez and Mr Norman Salmond (vocal) with Miss Fanny Davies (piano), Master Jean Gerardy (cello) and the Meister Glee Singers. The orchestral overtures in this concert were replaced with organ solos by Edwin H. Lemare.
19 May 1894: Madame Amy Sherwin, Miss Dews, Mr Edward Lloyd and Mr Santley (vocal) with Miss Marianne Eissler (violin), and Miss Clara Eissler (harp), accompanied by Wilhelm Ganz and Joseph Speaight (with a list of the Royal Welsh Ladies’ Choir, conducted by Madame Clara Novello Davies).
2 June 1894: Miss Lily Moody, Mr Robert Kaufmann, Mr Bantock Pierpoint, Mr Norman Salmond and Mr Franklin Clive (vocal) with Miss Pauline St. Angelo (piano), Miss Frida Scotta (violin) and the Dilettante Vocal Quartette (Mr James A. Brown, Mr Edward Dalzell, Mr Frederick Bevan, Mr Robert Hilton), conducted by Signor Emilio Pizzi and Signor Angelo Mascheroni. The second act of this concert consisted of an Operatic Recital of a lyric drama, in one act, entitled Gabriella, composed for and dedicated to Adelina Patti by Emilio Pizzi (with brief plot synopsis).
7 July 1894: Madame Alice Gomez, Madame Antoinette Sterling, Mr Ben Davies and Mr Santley (vocal) with Madame Augarde (piano) and Master Jean Gerardy (cello) (with a list of the Royal Welsh Ladies’ Choir).
Date range of collection
1889 - 1894
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places
This collection is about

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council