This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordAylmer Buesst Collection: Leeds and Scotland (1923-1932)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Aylmer Buesst Collection: Leeds and Scotland (1923-1932)
A collection of programmes from Leeds and Scotland, from 1923 to 1932. The programmes contain analytical programme notes, musical examples and often contain photographs of performers.

The first part of the volume contains programmes and prospectuses from the Leeds Symphony Orchestra. The majority of these concerts were part of the series “Leeds Saturday Orchestral Concerts”. All the programmes are form concerts that took place in the Town Hall, Leeds. The concerts were largely conducted by Julius Harrison. There is one programme from a concert conducted by Alymer Buesst, on February 13th 1932. This concert was originally advertised in the prospectus for the season as being conducted by Julius Harrison. However, the prospectus was annotated with Buesst’s name replacing Harrison’s for this concert, and the individual programme for this concert states that Buesst was the conductor. Though the programmes range from 1923 to 1932, the majority of material is from the 1923-1924 or 1924-1925 seasons.

The second part of the volume contains programmes and other material from Scottish concerts, from 1923 to 1929. The collection includes programmes, prospectuses and retrospective season indexes. The majority of material is from concerts given by the Choral and Orchestral Union of Glasgow – founded in 1898 – at St. Andrew’s Hall, Glasgow. These featured the Scottish Orchestra, under an array of different conductors. Some materials include seating plans and prices for St. Andrew’s Hall. The collection includes a programme from a “Plébiscite” concert in February 1925: this concert seemed to have featured music voted for inclusion by the subscribers to the series.

There is also a prospectus from the Paterson’s Orchestral Concerts, 1926-1927 season. These concerts were given at the Usher Hall, by the Scottish Orchestra and Vaclav Talich. One programme includes a seating plan of the Usher Hall, with relevant prices for the series.

The programmes are divided between “Leeds” and “Scotland”. Within each group, the programmes are arranged reverse chronologically.
Date range of collection
1923 - 1932
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
This collection is about

Location Details

Royal Academy of Music, Library
Marylebone Road London NW1 5HT
Open Map
020 7873 7323
020 7873 7322
Visiting Information
Term-Time Opening Hours: Monday to Friday: 9.00–18.00 Saturdays: 9.00–12.00 (Junior Academy terms only) Vacation hours vary and are advertised in the Library Information section in the on-line Unicorn Catalogue.
Collections Overview
Books; printed music; sound recordings; choral sets; orchestral sets; manuscripts; early printed music & books; undergraduate & research
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council