This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordAylmer Buesst Collection: London Symphony Orchestra (1919-1934)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Aylmer Buesst Collection: London Symphony Orchestra (1919-1934)
A collection of one volume of 18 programmes of performances by the London Symphony Orchestra, from 1919 to 1934. The programmes are from concerts that took place in the Queen’s Hall. The collection is by no means complete, representing usually one or two concerts per London Symphony Orchestra season.

The concerts featured a variety of conductors. Aylmer Buesst is represented in two programmes from 1923, which include the British premiere of the “Alpine Symphony” (Richard Strauss). Other conductors include Hamilton Harty, Mengelberg, Albert Coates, Vladimir Shavitch, Thomas Beecham, Serge Koussevitsky and Weingartner. Albert Coates is the most prolific conductor in this collection, conducting a number of the concerts at the beginning of this collection.

The programmes include analytical notes and musical examples.

The collection is arranged reverse chronologically.
Date range of collection
1919 - 1934
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific

Location Details

Royal Academy of Music, Library
Marylebone Road London NW1 5HT United Kingdom
Open Map
020 7873 7323
020 7873 7322
Visiting Information
Term-Time Opening Hours: Monday to Friday: 9.00-18.00 Saturdays: 9.00-12.00 (Junior Academy terms only) Vacation hours vary and are advertised in the Library Information section in the on-line Unicorn Catalogue.
Collections Overview
Books; printed music; sound recordings; choral sets; orchestral sets; manuscripts; early printed music & books; undergraduate & research
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council