This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. You browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.

Search: Advanced Search
HomeSearchGetRecordGlasgow Choral Union (1883-1885)

Collection Description

Collection Title
Glasgow Choral Union (1883-1885)
Unique Identifier
The prospectus, programmes and wordbooks for the tenth series of Choral and Orchestral Concerts, given by the Glasgow Choral Union at St. Andrew’s Hall, Glasgow between 1883 and 1884, arranged chronologically in a bound volume. Also, an incomplete set of programmes for the eleventh series of these performances (missing concert nos.5 and 9), given at the same venue between 1884 and 1885, held as a second volume.

The number of orchestral concerts in each season considerably outweighed the number of choral performances. Both seasons included one 'Choro-Orchestral' performance.

The nature of the vocal concerts is described in detail below. The orchestral concerts were two-act performances of primarily nineteenth-century orchestral repertory, typically with concerto/concertante items for the one or two soloists listed. They included a large number of works which were receiving their first performance, either in Britain or at this concert series. Particularly notable in this respect is the performance of Schubert, Symphony No.7, given on 10 January 1884, having been completed from the composer's outline by John Francis Barnett.

Both the prospectus and the programmes provide detailed information regarding the vocal and instrumental soloists and include a list of the complete orchestral ensemble. All concerts were conducted August Manns, with Dr A.L. Peace (organ) and choral direction by Mr Allan Macbeth. A large number of the soloists are listed as making their first appearances in Glasgow.

The programmes list the patrons, committee, guarantors and stewards for the concerts. The prospectus for 1883-84 also includes detailed information regarding subscription arrangements.

All programmes begin with a short poetic/literary quotation relevant to music and contain extensive historical and analytical programme notes, with musical examples. The notes are signed only with initials, the significance of which are explained in an introductory note. Authors include Sir George Grove ('G.'), August Manns ('A.M.') and C.A. Barry ('C.A.B.'), with less frequent contributions by F. Hueffer, and Edward Dannreuther. Many of these notes were borrowed from London concert series such as the Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts, Richter Concerts and the Philharmonic Society Concerts.

Included in the second volume is a list of the most popular works performed, based on votes taken at two different concerts during the season and excluding certain forms such as the concerto. The tables provide detailed information regarding the number of votes received for each work.

Volume 1: Tenth season (1883–84)
12 December 1883: Mendelssohn, First Walpurgis Night; Handel, Acis and Galatea.
1 January 1884: Handel, The Messiah.
17 January 1884: Gounod, The Redemption.
31 January 1884: Berlioz, Messe des Morts.

Orchestral: 4, 18 and 27 December 1883; 10, 15, 22 and 29 January and 5 February 1884.

The Choro-Orchestral Concert this season was that given on 15 January 1884. It included Félicien David, Symphonic Ode, The Desert, with Edward Lloyd (tenor) and a quartet drawn from the Glasgow Choral Union.

Vocal: Miss Mary Davies, Miss Robertson, Mrs Hutchinson, Miss Hilda Coward, Mlle Elly Warnots, Miss Thudichum, Miss Clara Samuell, Miss Carlotta Elliot, Miss Helen D'Alton, Madame Patey, Miss Marian McKenzie, Miss Grace Damian, Mr Barton McGuckin, Mr Charles Chilley, Mr Edward Lloyd, Mr Joseph Maas, Mr John Bridson, Mr Frederic King and Mr Santley.

Instrumental: Hugo Heermann and Signor Papini (violin), Signor Piatti (cello) and M. Vladimir de Pachmann, Mdlle Janotha and Madame Montigny-Rémaury (piano).

Volume 2: Eleventh season (1884–85)
Choral (nos.2 and 12)
16 December 1884: Mendelssohn, Elijah, with Madame Valleria, Miss Alexandra Ehrenberg, Mr Charles Chilley and Mr W. Ludwig.
10 February 1885: Handel, Israel in Egypt, with Miss Annie Marriott, Madame Patey and Mr Edward Lloyd.
The programme for 16 December 1884 includes an article entitled 'Mendelssohn's "Elijah" ', taken from the Musical World of 29 August 1846.

Orchestral (nos.1, 3-4, 6-8 and 10-11):
9 December 1884: Madame Minnie Hauk (vocal) and Robert Heckmann (violin).
23 December 1884: Franz Rummel (piano) and the Cologne String Quartet (R. Heckmann, O. Forberg, T. Allekotte and R. Bellmann).
30 December 1884: Hugo Heermann (violin) and Miss Thudichum (vocal).
6 January 1885: Mr Joseph Maas (vocal) and Miss Agnes Zimmermann (piano).
13 January 1885: Bi-centenary Commemoration of the Birth of Johann Sebastian Bach, with Madame Clara Samuell (vocal) and Robert Heckmann and Otto Forberg (violins).
20 January 1885: Miss Hilda Coward (vocal) and Professor Heinrich Barth (piano).
27 January 1885, In Commemoration of Mozart's Birthday, featuring Mrs Hutchinson (vocal) and Mr J.T. Carrodus (violin).
3 February 1885: Mademoiselle Anna Soubre (vocal) and Madame Essipoff (piano).

The thirteenth and final concert of the series, given on 12 February 1885, was described as 'Choro-Orchestral'. It comprised selections from Handel's works, given by Madame Patey and Mr Edward Lloyd (vocal).
Date range of collection
1883 - 1885
Accumulation Dates
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated Places

Location Details

British Library, Music Collections
96 Euston Road London NW1 2DB
Open Map
020 7412 7772
020 7412 7751
Visiting Information
Reprographic services
See for further details
Collections Overview
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)
Cardif University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)Royal College of Music LondonMuseums, Libraries and Archives Council